

Share this Page: 🚹

powered by fiContact

Click here if you are having trouble viewing this message



For immediate release: 00:01 BST Wednesday 6 July 2022



2021 London Marathon elite women's wheelchair winner Manuela Schär

# 2022 TCS LONDON MARATHON WILL STAGE RICHEST WHEELCHAIR RACES IN HISTORY

# Total prize pot for 2022 races is increased by \$57,800 to \$199,500

## Defending champions Manuela Schär and Marcel Hug return in 2022

The 2022 TCS London Marathon will host the richest wheelchair races in history on Sunday 2 October.

Defending champions Marcel Hug (SUI) and Manuela Schär (SUI), Paralympic marathon winner Madison de Rozario (AUS) and eight-time London Marathon champion David Weir (GBR) will all be competing for a share of the biggest-ever wheelchair racing prize pot.

The TCS London Marathon has increased the total prize structure across both the men's and women's wheelchair races by \$57,800: from \$141,700 in 2021 to \$199,500 this year. The new structure includes increased prize money for each of the top 10 finishers, while there are additional bonuses available for course records and the Abbott World Marathon Majors Flying 400 competition.

The winners of the men's and women's wheelchair race will receive \$35,000 each, up from \$25,000 last year, with second receiving \$20,000 and third \$15,000. There are incremental increases for all the finisher positions down to the 10tth-placed athlete, who will receive \$1,250.

Schär said: "I've been racing marathons around the world since 2013. To see what the London Marathon has done, and continues to do, to promote wheelchair racing should be a great example to society."

Weir said: "For the London Marathon to be taking a stand and increasing prize money for wheelchair athletes is really powerful and sets a benchmark for all sports globally. I really appreciate, and forever will, what the London Marathon is doing for the men's and women's wheelchair divisions."

Hugh Brasher, TCS London Marathon Event Director, said: "The London Marathon has for many years led the way in promoting, supporting and showcasing the very best wheelchair racers in the world. We're delighted to be doing this again by making this year's wheelchair races the richest in history and welcoming the greatest wheelchair athlete field we have ever assembled."

Schär leads the entries in the elite women's wheelchair field. The 37-yearold has been the world's leading female wheelchair racer since 2018 and set a London Marathon course record of 1:39:52 last year. One of the few racers to have got the better of Schär in recent years is Paralympic marathon champion de Rozario, the 2018 London Marathon winner, and she will return to the UK capital in October for the first time since 2019.

Share this Page: 🚹

(NED). Four-time London Marathon winner Tatyana McFadden (USA) also returns along with her compatriot Susannah Scaroni, who recently set a world 5000m record (10:38:46).

In the men's race, Hug will be looking to defend the title he won last year and faces competition from Daniel Romanchuk (USA), 2019 champion and winner of this year's Boston Marathon, as well as Weir bidding to win his ninth title.

### Elite men's wheelchair field

- Marcel HUG (SUI): Marathon PB 1:17:47
- Ernst VAN DYK (RSA): 1:18:04
- Joshua CASSIDY (CAN): 1:18:24
  Tomoki SUZUKI (JPN): 1:18:37
  Aaron PIKE (USA): 1:20:02
- JohnBoy SMÌTH (GBR): 1:20:05
- Hiroki NISHIDA (JPN): 1:20:28
- Kota HOKINOUE (JPN): 1:20:54
  Daniel ROMANCHUK (USA): 1:21:21
- Rafael BOTELLO JIMÈNEZ (ESP): 1:22:09
- Jordi MADERA JIMENEZ (ESP): 1:22:10
- Patrick MONAHAN (IRL): 1:22:23
  Sho WATANABE (JPN): 1:24:00
  Hermin GARIC (USA): 1:24:18

- James SENBETA (UŚA): 1:24:27
- Simon LAWSON (GBR): 1:25:06
   David WEIR (GBR): 1:26:17
- Jake LAPPIN (AUS): 1:29:31
- Callum HALL (GBR): 1:30:27
- Brian SIEMAN (USÁ): 1:32:11
- Jetze PLAT (NED): Debut

### Elite women's wheelchair field

- Susannah SCARONI (USA): 1:27:31
- Manuela SCHAR (SUI): 1:28:17
- Tatyana MCFADDEN (USA): 1:31:30
  Jenna FESEMYER (USA): 1:37:02
  Shelly WOODS (GBR): 1:37:44

- Madison DE ROZARIÓ (AUS): 1:38:11

- Nikita DEN BOER (NED): 1:38:16
  Wakako TSUCHIDA (JPN): 1:38:32
  Margriet VAN DEN BROEK (NED): 1:38:33
- Aline ROCHA (BRA): 1:41:39
- Merle MENJE (GER): 1:42:12
  Vanessa DE SOUZA (BRA): 1:42:16
- Jade JONES-HALL (GBR): 1:43:40
- Michelle WHEELER (USA): 1:45:45 Christie DAWES (AUS): 1:46:44
- Patricia EACHUS (SUI): 1:47:06
  Yen HOANG (USA): 1:50:14
- Catherine DEBRUNNER (SUI): Debut

ENDS

About the London Marathon

- The 2022 TCS London Marathon will take place on Sunday 2 October.
- The London Marathon was first held on 29 March 1981 and the millionth finisher in the history of the event crossed the line in 2016.
- Since the first London Marathon in 1981, the event has raised more than £1 billion for charity.
- London Marathon Events gifts its surplus each year to The London Marathon Charitable Trust.
- · Since 1981, The London Marathon Charitable Trust has awarded grants totalling in excess of
- £95 million to more than 1,500 projects in London and across the UK For more information, visit tcslondonmarathon.com

For further information, please contact:

Ryan Goad | Head of Communications and TV | London Marathon Events Ltd ryan.goad@londonmarathonevents.co.uk | +44 7950 708574



Click here to unsubscribe or to change your Subscription Preferences

powered by fiContact